St Mary's Episcopal Church

Event
at entrance to Dalkeith Country Park, Dalkeith, EH22 2NA
Show on the map
11 September 2021
Overview

11 September 2021 (10:00-16:30) Midlothian The 5th Duke of Buccleuch
commissioned architects William Burns and David Bryce to build St Mary's as a
private chapel for Dalkeith House and Estate. Designed in the Early English
style, it opened in 1845. In 1890 a further side chapel, the Buccleuch Aisle,
was added by the 6th Duke with a burial vault for the Buccleuch family beneath
it. The Church has 4 significant features: the magnificent stained glass
windows with a triple-light window at the front and a rose window at the back,
which were made in France; heraldic Minton Floor Tiles bearing the crests of
the various families linked to the Buccleuch's; a superb example of a double
hammer-head beam roof and a fan vaulted chancel; the last continuously working
water powered organ in the country which was built by the renowned organ
builder, William Hamilton of Edinburgh. For Doors Open Days 2021 we are
inviting you in to have a look around this beautiful Church, then maybe
explore the extensive grounds of the country park! No booking required.
www.stmarysdalkeith.co.uk Facilities Disabled Access Disabled WC WC Parking
Architect: William Burn & David Bryce Building Date: 1843

Address
at entrance to Dalkeith Country Park, Dalkeith, EH22 2NA

55.8993691, -3.0652553