Guided tour of the castle of Aucors: discover the secrets of a millenary house!

Aucors, 24340 Beaussac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France
Show on the map
20 - 21 September 2025
Overview

On a rock overlooking the Nizonne, the castle of "Haute Corne" was founded by the d'Aucorn, mentioned in the 11th century. In the 14th century, the Rochechouart made Aucors a royal fortified castle. We then add a 'lair' above the void: it is the current dwelling exposed at noon. Besieged in 1435, partly destroyed, it is raised at the end of the 15th century, then improved at the beginning of the 16th century with the addition of a hexagonal staircase tower. In 1577, François de Conan, lord of Connezac, acquires the land for his younger son Jean, who repairs the house in 1617, including the south facade with its two stovetops pepper. The gate of the court, dated 1639, bears a shield bearing the arms of a Conan-Maillard alliance. The Conan d'Aucors died out in 1821 with Henri, cavalry colonel, a former émigré, who left the estate to his nephew, Thibault de Maillard La Combe, whose daughter married Auguste Dupin de Saint-Cyr. These are the ancestors of the current owners, who will guide an architectural and archaeological visit, between great History and family history. Informations Free. By reservation. Each slot is limited to 30 people. E-mail aucorn24@gmail.com

Address
Aucors, 24340 Beaussac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France

45.489923, 0.482283

Enter an address like "Chicago, IL".